Monday, July 6, 2009

Just back from July 4th week vacation

We just got back from the world last night and had a great, nice long vacation. We stayed at the new Kidani Village. The rooms were beautiful and the pool was great and the walk isn't all that bad to get over to Jambo if you have one of the parking lot view rooms (although that is the only advantage of those rooms) so Savannah view rooms are pretty close too. We noticed that there seemed to be far less people getting on/off at the bus stops at kidani than at Jambo. Overall Kidnai was a very nice hotel, i think having a counter service closer would make it a lot better though.

I'll start out by saying this has to be the best and the longest lasting vacation i've ever had. We started out the week by doing the KTTK tour, which was great. I enjoyed very much going behind the scenes and seeing those kind of things as well as the utilidors. The crowds were pretty light this trip with the exception of the 3rd and 4th, so we were able to get a lot done, but also took it easy and spread out our schedule.

We went to MK about 3-4 times, EPCOT 2-3 times, AK 2 times and DHS only once. We really were just taking it easy and doing a little each time we went to a park, going back to the room for a nap and then went to a different park at night. While we were there we did the dining plan which worked out well and got a lot of food out of it. Overall we were happy and it worked out in the end. While we were there we were able to catch "Slippery When Wet: A Bon Jovi Tribute Band" at EPCOT. They were great, looked and even sounded like the real thing. I wish i could have seen another set from them, but we needed to go. We were also able to catch the preview of the HOP and I thought it was great. I thought Lincoln looked almost real when he stood up and was moving around and most everyone else looked great also. It was also pretty cool when GW talked and then Obama repeated the oath of office (Correctly!). You could definatley tell Disney put a lot of effort into this.

Overall the crowds were pretty good for the time of year and with the exception of the 3rd and 4th, I didn't notice many really long lines where we had a hard time getting on anything more than once anywhere other than DHS. TSM topped at 100 minutes at one point on the 1st, while TOT and RNR were around 60. We were able to get on all of them once and that was all. I was also pretty disappointed that luxo jr. was not running during the time I was there on the 1st. I was looking forward to seeing him running.

I couldn't believe it when I had heard that the monorails had crashed early on the 5th. Then I started to believe it more b/c I realized they were working 12-14 hours that day and they were probably put under a lot of stress to keep things moving at a quick pace. It's too bad that that had to happen.

So overall, it was a great vacation!

I'll Post pictures of the resort from the vacation later on tonight. I have some really good ones from around MK and from BLT.

No comments:

Post a Comment